Microgrid Benchmarks
Microgrid Equipment KPIs: Benchmarks for Build, Test and Commissioning
Build hours, factory acceptance test yield, kit completeness, commissioning and interconnection: how to measure each KPI, what moves it, and which figures have a cited source.
Use these benchmarks as reference points for spotting a gap, not as targets. Measure weekly, post the numbers on the floor, and compare actuals with your own estimates while each job is still open and correctable.
Every figure shows its basis. A superscript number links to a public source in the Sources list, and the sentence gives that source's scope. A figure marked no cited source is kept exactly as originally published because no public source stating it was found, so treat it as illustrative.
At a glance
| KPI | Typical | Strong | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Assembly hours per metal-clad switchgear section | 38 to 48 (typical shops) | 28 to 32 (world class) | no cited source |
| Terminations landed and torqued per hour | 6 to 8 (average) | 10 to 14 (strong) | no cited source |
| First-pass FAT yield, test points passing | 80 to 88% | 92 to 97% (world class) | no cited source |
| FAT findings per switchgear section | 1.5 or more (signals process drift) | Fewer than 0.5 (excellent) | no cited source |
| Kit completeness at mobilization | 88 to 94% | 98 to 100% verified (world class) | no cited source |
| I/O points commissioned per engineer per day | Below 25 (signals integration problems) | 40 to 70 (seasoned team) | no cited source |
| Milestone dates commissioned on plan | 65 to 75% | 90% (world class) | no cited source |
| Protection relays tested per day, two-technician team | 6 to 10 | Not stated | no cited source |
| Relay test rework | Over 15% (settings or CT ratios wrong) | Under 5% (world class) | no cited source |
| Interconnection, systems under 50 kW | Median 11 to 88 days (three states, 2022) | Not stated | DOE i2X roadmap1 |
| Interconnection, systems of 50 kW and larger | Median 62 to 291 days (two states, 2022) | Not stated | DOE i2X roadmap1 |
| Interconnection when a full impact study triggers | 6 to 12 months | Not stated | no cited source |
Method: How the figures in this guide are sourced
A figure with a superscript number is stated by the cited source, listed under Sources with its publisher, location in the document and access date, and the sentence gives its scope. A figure marked no cited source is kept exactly as originally published because no public source stating it was found. It is illustrative, not measured industry data. Worked examples show arithmetic only and are not benchmarks.
Switchgear assembly hours
Shop labor productivity is the anchor KPI. World-class metal-clad switchgear assembly runs 28 to 32 hours per section no cited source; typical shops sit at 38 to 48 no cited source, and troubled jobs exceed 55 no cited source.
Terminations per hour is the sub-metric: 10 to 14 landed and torqued terminations per hour is strong, and 6 to 8 is average no cited source. Hold build-hour variance inside plus or minus 8 percent job over job to keep the estimate credible no cited source.
For example, if the estimate is 34 hours per section and the job burns 46, the overrun is 46 / 34 = 1.35, or 35 percent, a gap that points to fixturing or drawing errors.
How to measure
- Clock actual hours per completed section, not estimated hours.
- Count terminations landed and torqued per clocked hour.
- Compare actual with estimated hours on every job.
What moves it
- Fixtured, kitted workstations, which cut switchgear build hours 15 to 25 percent no cited source.
- Accurate drawings, so wiring is not reworked on the bench.
- Actual hours fed back into the estimate after every job, which tightens estimates until variance sits inside 8 percent no cited source.
Compare actuals with the estimate from the Switchgear Assembly Hours calculator.
First-pass factory acceptance test yield
First-pass factory acceptance test (FAT) yield tells you how clean the build is. World class is 92 to 97 percent of test points passing on the first run no cited source; typical is 80 to 88 percent no cited source.
Count defects per unit at FAT too: fewer than 0.5 findings per switchgear section is excellent, and 1.5 or more signals process drift no cited source. Every point failed at FAT is roughly 10x cheaper to fix in the shop than the same defect found in the field no cited source, so protect this number.
Energy throughput matters as well. The Factory Acceptance Test Energy calculator sets the expected kWh, and a full-load run should complete inside 1.2x that budget no cited source.
How to measure
- Divide test points passed on the first run by total test points.
- Count FAT findings per switchgear section.
- Log full-load test energy against the calculated budget.
What moves it
- A design-for-test checklist and a pre-FAT continuity sweep, which lift first-pass yield 5 to 10 points no cited source.
- Fixing the top root cause of findings before the next build starts.
Kit completeness at mobilization
Material readiness at mobilization drives field productivity. World-class cable and accessory kit completeness is 98 to 100 percent verified before the crew leaves the shop no cited source; typical is 88 to 94 percent no cited source.
Each missing item costs a half-day of crew idle at 3,000 to 5,000 dollars no cited source. Aim for zero field-discovered shortages per project no cited source.
Shops that hit 99 percent kit completeness cut field labor overruns from the typical 15 percent down to about 5 percent no cited source.
How to measure
- Verify every kit against the cable schedule with a hard checklist, not a glance.
- Record completeness as verified items over required items at mobilization.
- Count the shortages discovered in the field on every project.
What moves it
- Barcoded kit verification, which takes completeness from 90 to 99 percent no cited source.
- A checklist that names every lug, gland and terminator line by line.
The Cable Kit Completeness calculator flags missing lugs, glands and terminators against the cable schedule.
Commissioning rate and schedule adherence
Commissioning points per day measures controls and startup efficiency. A seasoned team checks out 40 to 70 I/O points per day per engineer on a microgrid controller no cited source; below 25 signals integration problems or a bad point list no cited source.
Track schedule adherence as the share of milestone dates commissioned on plan. World class hits 90 percent of milestone dates no cited source, and typical hits 65 to 75 no cited source.
Slippage compounds, because interconnection witness tests are scheduled with the utility and a missed date can cost weeks of delay.
How to measure
- Count I/O points checked out per engineer per day.
- Mark each milestone on plan or late against the baseline schedule.
What moves it
- Pre-loaded and simulated controls point lists, which raise commissioning throughput about 30 percent no cited source.
- A clean, verified point list before the team reaches the site.
Size the point count and set a realistic daily rate and end date with the Controls Commissioning Load calculator.
Protection relay testing
Protection relay testing capacity governs energization readiness. A two-technician team tests 6 to 10 relays per day, including functional and pickup checks no cited source.
World-class relay test rework is under 5 percent no cited source. Anything over 15 percent means settings files or current transformer (CT) ratios are wrong no cited source.
How to measure
- Count relays fully tested per technician-day.
- Divide relays retested by relays tested for the rework rate.
What moves it
- Settings files checked before the test window opens.
- CT ratios confirmed against the drawings before testing starts.
Convert relay count into technician-days and staff the window with the Protection Relay Test Capacity calculator.
Interconnection review turnaround
Utility interconnection approval often sets the energization date. A 2025 U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) roadmap reports that in 2022, median interconnection times for systems smaller than 50 kW ranged from 11 to 88 days across California, Massachusetts and New York1.
Larger systems wait longer. For systems of 50 kW and larger in California and Massachusetts, 2022 medians ranged from 62 to 291 days, in data that includes projects above 5 MW1. Plan a microgrid in that size class against these longer medians.
Expect 6 to 12 months when a full impact study triggers no cited source. DOE's 2030 target is a median under 75 days from request to agreement for systems of 50 kW to 5 MW that do not trigger upgrades, a goal rather than current performance1.
How to measure
- Date each submission and each utility response.
- Count the days from request to a signed interconnection agreement.
- Track projects that trigger a study separately from those that do not.
What moves it
- Complete, accurate submissions the first time.
- A schedule that plans for a full impact study whenever one is likely.
Size the review hours with the Grid Interconnect Review Load calculator.
How to build your own baseline
The gap between the typical and world-class bands is usually 30 to 50 percent of avoidable cost and schedule no cited source. Standardize before you automate, and work on one KPI at a time.
- Measure every KPI weekly and post the numbers on the floor.
- Compare actuals with the Switchgear Assembly Hours and Field Install Labor estimates while each job is still open.
- Pick the KPI with the widest gap to world class and fix its top root cause.
- Feed actual hours back into both estimates after every job.
- Move to the next KPI once the first one holds.
Sources
- Distributed Energy Resource Interconnection Roadmap: Transforming Interconnection by 2035 (PNNL-35696). U.S. Department of Energy, Interconnection Innovation e-Xchange (i2X); Pacific Northwest National Laboratory. published January 16, 2025. Printed p. 25, Table 1 2030 targets and text on 2022 medians for systems under 50 kW; printed p. 26, 2022 medians for systems of 50 kW and larger. Accessed September 30, 2026.
Published 2026-07-02.