Renewable KPIs

Solar and Wind Manufacturing KPIs: Benchmarks, Measurement and Levers

Cell-to-module yield, line OEE, laminator throughput, blade labor, rework, material yield and mold utilization: how to measure each KPI, what moves it, and which figures have a cited source.

Use these benchmarks as reference points for spotting a gap worth investigating on a solar module line or a wind blade floor, not as targets. Your own rolling trend says more about your plant than any single published figure.

Every figure shows its basis. A superscript number links to a public source in the Sources list, and the sentence states that source's scope, such as a cost model or a cross-industry study. A figure marked no cited source is kept exactly as originally published because it has not been matched to a public source that states it, so treat it as illustrative.

At a glance

Solar module and wind blade KPI benchmarks at a glance
KPITypicalStrongBasis
Cell-to-module yield94 to 96%97.5 to 98.5% (world-class)no cited source
Module line OEE68 to 78%85% (world-class, cross-industry)Typical no cited source; world-class: Raju and colleagues1
Laminator throughput per press6 to 8 modules/h (older single-opening)9 to 12 modules/h (modern dual-opening)no cited source
Laminator cycle per openingNot stated360 to 420 s (modern dual-opening target)no cited source
Layup crew-hours, 60 to 65 m blade500 to 650 (ramp or poorly balanced plant)Not statedno cited source
Total labor hours, 63 m reference blade1,134 (modeled mature factory)Not statedNREL cost model2
Blades needing significant rework8 to 15%Under 3% (world-class)no cited source
Solar glass yield90 to 93%95 to 97% (world-class)no cited source
Blade resin uptake vs. theoreticalNot statedWithin 3%no cited source
Cell breakageNot statedUnder 300 ppm (strong target)no cited source
Schedule attainmentNot stated95%+ (mature module line); 90% (blade plant)no cited source
Blade mold pulls per year250 to 290320 to 340 (world-class)Low end: NREL cost model3; world-class no cited source
Ranges are as originally published unless a source is cited. Where the original used a word other than typical or strong, that word is kept in the cell. NREL's labor figure is a modeled mature-factory estimate covering every operation on the blade, not a plant survey, and the low end of the typical mold-pull band matches the 250 production days a year that NREL's model assumes3. Not stated means no figure was given for that column.

Method: How the figures in this guide are sourced

A figure with a superscript number is stated by the cited source, listed under Sources with its publisher and access date. Where a source measures something broader or different, such as a cross-industry OEE study or a modeled factory, the sentence says so. A figure marked no cited source is kept exactly as originally published because it has not been matched to a public source that states it. It is illustrative, not measured industry data. Worked examples are arithmetic illustrations, not benchmarks.

Cell-to-module yield

Cell-to-module yield is the headline KPI on a solar line, and every point is money because each cell already carries silicon value. Typical plants run 94 to 96 percent, and world-class plants run 97.5 to 98.5 percent no cited source.

Track stage yields alongside the composite so you attack the leaking stage, not the average.

How to measure

  • Divide finished modules out by cell-equivalents started.
  • Use a rolling 30-day window rather than a single shift, so one lucky day does not flatter the number.
  • Report each stage yield beside the composite.

What moves it

  • Stringer alignment.
  • The catch rate of electroluminescence (EL) inspection before lamination.
  • Scribe quality on half-cut cells.

Model your own stage losses with the Solar Cell Yield calculator.

Line OEE

Line OEE (overall equipment effectiveness) ties availability, performance and quality into one figure. Solar module lines typically sit at 68 to 78 percent no cited source, with the laminator almost always the constraint.

The usual world-class mark, 85 percent, traces to Nakajima's total productive maintenance (TPM) work, which Raju and colleagues (2022) tabulate as OEE above 85 percent, with availability above 90, performance above 95 and quality above 99.9 percent1. That is a cross-industry discrete-manufacturing mark, not a solar one, and Vorne, an OEE software maker, says most manufacturers run closer to 60 percent4.

For example, availability of 92 percent, performance of 95 percent against validated cycle time and quality of 98 percent multiply to roughly 86 percent (0.92 x 0.95 x 0.98 = 85.7 percent); at 95 percent availability the product is 88.4 percent. If your OEE reads 72, decompose it: a 900 second laminator cycle that should be 780 is a performance loss of 13 percent (1 minus 780 / 900) hiding as slow running.

How to measure

  • Multiply availability, performance and quality, each as a fraction.
  • Measure performance against validated cycle time, not nameplate.
  • Calculate OEE for the constraint station as well as for the whole line.

What moves it

  • The bottleneck station, because line OEE cannot exceed the constraint's OEE.
  • Slow running on the laminator, which hides as a performance loss.
  • Decomposing any low reading into its three factors before acting.

Check the constraint's rate with the Panel Lamination Throughput calculator.

Laminator cycle time and throughput

Laminator cycle time and modules per hour are the throughput benchmarks that cap the plant. A modern dual-opening laminator targets 360 to 420 seconds per opening cycle and 9 to 12 modules per hour per press at full uptime; older single-opening presses sit at 6 to 8 no cited source.

Nameplate rate is not a benchmark; sustained rate over a week is.

Unplanned stops add up quickly. A mid-shift 20 minute stop costs two modules at 6 modules an hour, and 3 to 4 modules at 9 to 12 an hour.

How to measure

  • Log sustained modules per hour per press over a full week.
  • Record cycle time per opening and how many modules each opening holds.
  • Log every stop with its duration and cause.

What moves it

  • Vacuum and cure recipe optimization.
  • Faster loading automation.
  • Preventive maintenance on membranes to avoid unplanned mid-shift stops.

Size laminator output from cycle time, openings and uptime. Panel Lamination Throughput

Blade layup labor

For wind blades, layup labor hours per blade is the KPI that separates profitable plants from struggling ones. During ramp or in a poorly balanced plant, a 60 to 65 meter blade runs 500 to 650 crew-hours no cited source.

For a mature-factory reference, the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) 2019 blade cost model estimates 1,134 total labor hours for its 63 meter land-based reference blade, a figure NREL says aligns with manufacturer indications2. It is a modeled estimate covering every operation on the blade, from material cutting and infusion to assembly, not a plant survey.

How to measure

  • Clock crew-hours per finished blade.
  • Split the hours by station so you see whether root, shell or shear web is the drag.
  • Plot hours per blade against units built to see the learning curve.

What moves it

  • Cut-kit accuracy, so crews are not trimming fabric by hand.
  • Station balancing to remove idle time.
  • Driving the learning curve toward standard within 25 units instead of 60 no cited source.

Build a labor estimate for your own blade with the Blade Layup Labor calculator.

Blade first-pass quality and rework

Blade first-pass quality and rework rate govern both cost and schedule. World-class plants keep infusion defects such as dry spots and wrinkles under 3 percent of blades needing significant rework; typical plants sit at 8 to 15 percent no cited source.

Each rework can add 6 to 20 crew-hours plus cure time no cited source. Defects that escape to the field show up later as warranty cost: in 2025, U.S. power generation equipment makers, a Warranty Week group that mixes wind and solar with generators, EV chargers and batteries, paid claims averaging 2.36 percent of product sales5.

How to measure

  • Count blades that pass ultrasonic and bond-line inspection with no rework order.
  • Divide by blades produced in the same period.
  • Log the crew-hours and cure time spent on each rework.

What moves it

  • Resin flow-front monitoring during infusion.
  • Vacuum integrity checks holding below 5 millibar per minute leak-down no cited source.
  • Bond-gap control under the 6 millimeter design limit no cited source.

Put a labor figure on rework hours with the Blade Layup Labor calculator.

Scrap and material yield

Scrap and material yield deserve their own scorecard because renewable parts are material-heavy. Solar glass yield after trim and breakage should hold at 95 to 97 percent world-class versus 90 to 93 percent typical no cited source.

On a blade, resin uptake should track within 3 percent of the theoretical infusion mass, and drift above that signals leaks or over-bleed no cited source. For cells, watch breakage per million handled, with under 300 ppm as a strong target no cited source.

Small scrap percentages compound. A 3 point glass yield gap on a line drawing 2.7 square meters per module across 400,000 modules is about 32,400 square meters of glass.

How to measure

  • Track glass yield after trim and breakage, per line.
  • Compare actual resin uptake per blade with the theoretical infusion mass.
  • Count cell breakage per million cells handled.

What moves it

  • Vacuum leaks and over-bleed, which push resin uptake above theoretical.
  • Glass trim and breakage losses on each line.
  • Cell handling between stations.

Price the material side with the Wind Blade Material Cost calculator and the Solar Module Cost calculator.

Schedule attainment and mold utilization

Throughput and takt adherence tell you whether the line is balanced. Benchmark schedule attainment at 95 percent-plus for a mature module line and 90 percent for a blade plant, where a single mold pull swings the day no cited source.

On the wind side, mold utilization is the master KPI. World-class plants hit 320 to 340 pulls per mold per year no cited source against a theoretical ceiling near 365, one pull a day at the 24-hour gating cycle that blade factories aim for6.

Typical plants stall at 250 to 290 pulls because of demold delay and cure overruns; the low end matches NREL's cost model, which assumes 250 production days a year with molds running around the clock3. NREL also notes that the 24-hour gating cycle is extremely challenging for blades longer than 60 meters6.

In that model, the gating cycle covers assembly, main infusion and demold on the main mold. For the 63 meter reference blade, demold takes about 2 hours of it and each skin infusion about 15.4 hours2.

At a 24-hour gating cycle, cutting demold time by 30 minutes trims about 2.1 percent of the cycle. That is worth roughly 5 to 7 extra pulls per mold a year at 250 to 330 pulls.

How to measure

  • Compare planned and actual units per shift.
  • Record a variance driver code for every miss.
  • Count pulls per mold per year, with demold and cure time logged for each pull.

What moves it

  • Demold speed, since every minute saved shortens the gating cycle.
  • Cure time held to recipe, with overruns logged.
  • Balanced stations, so one slow step does not set the day.

Size crews to the gating cycle with the Blade Layup Labor calculator.

How to build your own baseline

Turn these KPIs into a weekly cadence, not a monthly autopsy.

  • Post yield, OEE, layup hours per blade, first-pass quality and mold utilization on a visible board.
  • Assign one owner per metric.
  • Set a target band, a typical band and a red line for each, and review any red daily.
  • Compare against your own trend first and published ranges second.
  • Reset targets whenever product or tooling changes, so they reflect the current line and not last year's mix.

Sources

  1. Anatomization of the overall equipment effectiveness (OEE) for various machines in a tool and die shop. Journal of Intelligent Manufacturing and Special Equipment, Vol. 3 No. 1, pp. 97-105 (Emerald, CC BY 4.0), DOI 10.1108/JIMSE-01-2022-0004. published 2022. p. 101 (PDF p. 5): sentence "Seiichi Nakajima included the above four “world-class” numbers." and Table 1 "The world-class OEE factor"; p. 103 (PDF p. 7): "worldwide threshold of >85% set by the Japan Institute of Plant Maintenance (JIPM)". Accessed September 30, 2026.
  2. A Detailed Wind Turbine Blade Cost Model (NREL/TP-5000-73585). National Renewable Energy Laboratory (P. Bortolotti, D. Berry, R. Murray, E. Gaertner, D. Jenne, R. Damiani, G. Barter, K. Dykes). published June 2019. Section 5, IEA land-based reference blade, 'Labor and CT' paragraph and Table 25, p. 57. Accessed September 30, 2026.
  3. A Detailed Wind Turbine Blade Cost Model (NREL/TP-5000-73585). National Renewable Energy Laboratory (P. Bortolotti et al.). published June 2019. Section 4 (factory assumptions: production days, number of mold sets, Eq. 4.1), p. 47. Accessed September 30, 2026.
  4. World-Class OEE: Set Targets To Drive Improvement. Vorne Industries (OEE.com). Sections 'What Is World-Class OEE?', 'TPM and World-Class OEE', 'Some Perspective on World-Class OEE'. Accessed September 30, 2026.
  5. U.S. Power Generation Equipment Warranty Expenses. Warranty Week (trade newsletter; data from U.S.-based manufacturers' financial statements). published July 9, 2026. Summary of 2025 claims and accrual rates, and 23-year averages. Accessed September 30, 2026.
  6. A Detailed Wind Turbine Blade Cost Model (NREL/TP-5000-73585). National Renewable Energy Laboratory (P. Bortolotti et al.). published June 2019. Section 3, Labor and Cycle Times, introduction, p. 14. Accessed September 30, 2026.

Published 2026-07-01.